The Bulgarian-American Fulbright Commission appoints new members to its Board of Directors

The Bulgarian Ministry of Education, the Embassy of the United States in Bulgaria, and the Bulgarian-American Fulbright Commission are pleased to announce the appointment of three new members of the bilateral Board of Directors of the Bulgarian-American Fulbright Commission.  The new members are Professor Kostadin Kostadinov, Deputy Minister of Education and Science;  Victoria Melamed, Minister Plenipotentiary, Eastern Europe and Central Asia Directorate, Ministry of Foreign Affairs;  and Dr. Julia Stefanova, former Executive Director of the Fulbright Commission.

These new members join the current members:  Elizabeth Fitzsimmons, Chairperson of the Board of Directors and Counselor for Public Affairs at the U.S. Embassy in Bulgaria; Neda Kristanova, Director of the Center for Control and Assessment of the Quality in Education, Ministry of Education and Science; Maria Metodieva, Family Economic Success Officer, Trust for Social Achievement;  Kevin Aspegren, President of the American University in Bulgaria; Thomas Higgins, CEO, Yatoto; Professor Geoffrey Dean, American University in Bulgaria;  and Tammy Paltchikov, Educational and Cultural Attaché at the U.S. Embassy in Bulgaria.

The Board of Directors of the Bulgarian-American Fulbright Commission looks forward to continuing to support the successful educational and cultural exchanges that are the hallmarks of the Fulbright Program.  These appointments represent the first outcome of the newly announced Educational and Cultural Working Group established during Secretary of State John Kerry’s January 15 visit to Bulgaria.  We look forward to sharing more accomplishments of this Working Group in the coming months.