Health Alert – U.S. Embassy Sofia, Bulgaria

Location:  Bulgaria
Event:  Bulgarian Ministry of Health Order issued May 14, 2020 continues restricted entry to Bulgaria through June 14, 2020.

Bulgaria continues to temporarily bar admission to third-country nationals, including U.S. citizens.  This includes all border crossing points with any means of transport, including aviation, maritime, rail, and road.

The ban does not apply to certain groups including: (a) Bulgarian citizens and their families, persons with the status of permanent, extended or long-term Bulgarian residence and the members of their families; (b) medical specialists, medical researchers and social workers, when the purpose of the trip is related to their profession; (c) transport personnel engaged in the international carriage of passengers and cargo, crews of commercial aircraft and other transport personnel as required; (d) foreign officials and members of their delegations, as well as diplomats, employees of international organizations, servicemen and humanitarian workers in the performance of their duties; (e) persons traveling for humanitarian reasons; (f) nationals of member states of the European Union and of Schengen countries (including San Marino, Andorra, Monaco and the Vatican) and third-country nationals directly involved in: the construction, maintenance, operation and security of the strategic and critical infrastructure of Republic of Bulgaria, implementation of projects certified under the Investment Promotion Act, analysis of projects of potential investors and other activities relevant to the country’s economy, certified by a letter from Minister of the Economy or another minister responsible for the activity; (g) seasonal agricultural workers and workers in the field of tourism; (h) frontier workers; and (i) workers involved in the supply of medical products, medical devices and personal protective equipment, medical equipment, including its installation and maintenance.

The order allows transit for the following travelers through Bulgaria to the country of their residence: (a) nationals of EU and Schengen countries (plus their family members), (b) third-country nationals holding long-term residence permits in another EU or Schengen country (plus family members); and, (c) citizens of Serbia, Northern Macedonia, Montenegro, and Turkey.  In addition, transit is only permitted when the traveler will immediately depart Bulgaria and only when arranged in advance through a Bulgarian Embassy or Consulate.

Travelers permitted entry will have to quarantine themselves for 14 days upon arrival except for those transiting.

The full text of the order is available here: Bulgarian Ministry of Health website.

  • The Department of State has issued a Global Level 4 Health Advisoryfor Covid-19.
  • U.S. citizens who are not prepared to remain abroad for an indefinite period should arrange for immediate return to the United States.
  • U.S. citizens planning to return to the United States are urged to work with their airlines to make travel arrangements while flights are still available.  If your travel has been disrupted, please contact your airline.
  • Travelers should be prepared for travel restrictions to be put into effect with little or no advance notice.
  • U.S. citizens who need assistance should contact the American Citizen Services Section at

Actions to take: 

Contact Information: